Skip to main content
Contact Us

GAAD for Good: Say hello to a future with purpose (EU and Australia)

Everyone has a place in the digital economy and accessibility is the key to making those connections happen.

Join industry experts from around the world for Siteimprove’s celebration of Global Accessibility Awareness Day (GAAD). Our virtual GAAD for Good event, on May 19, will show you how to create a truly welcoming environment for everyone.

The event features three concurrent tracks with sessions by industry experts from powerful associations, dynamic organizations, and proud Siteimprove customers. As an attendee, you’ll have the opportunity to select sessions from any of the three studios.

Join us virtually:
EU: May 19, 2022 10:00 AM CEST
APAC: May 19, 2022 06:00 PM AEST

Agenda

Time Session Room
10:00 am – 10:05 am CEST / 6:00 pm – 6:05 pm AEST

Welcome to GAAD for Good!

Shane Paladin, CEO at Siteimprove

Welcome to Siteimprove’s celebration of Global Accessibility Awareness Day (GAAD)!
Studio 1
10:05 am – 10:50 am CEST / 6:05 pm – 6:50 pm AEST

Racing to your goals, one lap at a time

Jonnie Peacock, Double Paralympic Champion
Kevin Rydberg, Managing Accessibility Consultant at Siteimprove

Hear Jonnie Peacock’s journey to becoming a double Paralympic Champion in the T44 100m and how he is inspiring people to build the profile of disability sports.
Studio 1
10:55 am – 11:25 am CEST / 6:55 pm – 7:25 pm AEST

Making accessibility a priority

Keith Bundy, Sr. Accessibility Consultant at Siteimprove

Accessibility isn’t just about compliance – it is the right thing to do. Learn why web accessibility should be a priority, along with how you can successfully implement it throughout your organization.
Studio 1

Accessibility requires inclusion

Clyde Valentine, Head of Client Engagement and Growth at QualityLogic

Accessibility requires more than just automation if you want to do it properly. Join Clyde Valentine to hear about how people, diversity, and inclusion play crucial roles in your accessibility strategy.
Studio 2

Allyship through accessibility

Dr. Manisha Amin, Centre for Inclusive Design

Why is allyship through accessibility important? How can inclusive design help? And what’s one thing you can do today to make an impact? Join Dr. Manisha Amin to find out.
Studio 3
11:30 am – 12:00 pm CEST / 7:30 pm – 8:00 pm AEST

Neurodiversity and accessibility

Albert Kim, Accessibility Lead

Disabilities come in many forms, which is why it is important to not forget about the invisible ones. Learn why mental health should be included in your digital accessibility plans, along with examples of how you can account for this need.
Studio 1

Digital accessibility at ÖBB-Infrastruktur

Nina Braun, Sr. Marketing and Communication Specialist at ÖBB-Infrastruktur

Accessibility is a heart-matter. Hear more about the challenges, success, and benefits ÖBB-Infrastruktur has experienced while prioritizing their accessibility journey.
Studio 2

How to use the inclusive design principles

Henny Swan, Director at TetraLogical

Digital accessibility focuses on user experience and a key part is your website design. Learn more about what aspects you need to consider in your digital design plans.
Studio 3
12:05 pm – 12:50 pm CEST / 8:05 pm – 8:50 pm AEST

Defying limits – the journey of Nicolas Hamilton

Nicolas Hamilton, Racing Driver
Shane Paladin, CEO at Siteimprove

Nicolas Hamilton became the first disabled athlete to compete in the British Touring Car Championship and continues to inspire people worldwide by proving that you can do anything through unwavering determination. Hear how Nicolas defied the limits.
Studio 1
1:00 pm – 1:45 pm CEST / 9:00 pm - 9:45 pm AEST

Identifying diverse needs for better UX

Gareth Ford Williams, Director at Ab11y.com
Jennifer Chadwick, Sr. Accessibility Consultant at Siteimprove
Inka Ilona Taagehøj, Accessibility Product Expert at Siteimprove

With a focus on the balance of the qualitative and quantitative components of accessibility, Gareth, Jennifer and Inka discuss the tough questions surrounding UX enhancements.
Studio 1

Building inclusive digital environments

Gina Bhawalkar, Principal Analyst at Forrester
Wendy Reid, Accessibility and Publishing Standards Lead at Rakuten Kobo
Kevin Bobowski, CMO at Siteimprove

In this panel discussion, you’ll learn how you can take digital accessibility to the next level with inclusive customer experiences. You’ll also hear Raukten Kobo’s story of building accessibility practices for their customers.
Studio 2

Overlooked accessibility development

Nicholas Goodrum, Director of Front-End Development and Accessibility at Americaneagle.com

Accessibility development gaps are often overlooked, even today. As a strong advocate for accessibility, Nicholas will cover how to avoid the trap of accessibility as an afterthought for developers, clients, and beyond.
Studio 3
1:50 pm – 2:20 pm CEST / 9:50 pm – 10:20 pm AEST

How the University of California is fostering a community with accessibility

Lucy Greco, Accessibility evangelist for the UC, Berkeley
Todd McGill, Director of Web Communications at UC, Irvine
Meredith Ehrenberg, Information Architect at the UC, Irvine
Somphone Eno, Assistive Technology Manager, Disability Services Center at UC, Irvine

We can often get too focused on the practicality of accessibility, but what about how it can be a community builder? Hear more about the programs the University of California has implemented to incentivize and promote accessibility training.
Studio 1

Making the world accessible for your future self

Claudio Luis Vera, Accessibility Leader, Author, and Analyst

As a thought leader focused on the future potential of accessibility in untapped industries, Claudio will highlight how you can make the world more accessible for both the aging population and yourself.
Studio 2

5 benefits of accessibility for digital services

Linn Öfverstedt, Project manager & Accessibility specialist at Valtech
Niklas Andervang, Front-end developer and accessibility expert at Valtech

Many people focus on accessibility for compliance, but what about all the other business benefits? Learn five key outcomes that you can experience when you create an inclusive digital experience for everyone.
Studio 3
2:25 pm – 2:55 pm CEST / 10:25 pm – 10:55 pm AEST

The story of overcoming challenges with a ‘disability’

Dustin Feldman, Enterprise Account Executive at 3Play Media

There are 432 million people in the world with a hearing disability – and Dustin Feldman is one of them. Hear more about Dustin’s hearing loss journey and how it has impacted his education, career, and social mission.
Studio 1

Microsoft: Creating accessibility for all

Niina Majaniemi, Customer Success Account Manager at Microsoft

Microsoft is one of the biggest names in the tech industry and setting accessibility expectations has been crucial to them. Hear Niina speak about Microsoft’s integrated approach to inclusion and how they are embedding accessibility throughout the company.
Studio 2

Accessibility education in professional development 101

Samantha Evans, Certification Manager at the International Association of Accessibility Professionals (IAAP)
Lucy Anscombe, Web Development Manager at the University of Stirling
Becca Moser, Sr. Technical Writer at Siteimprove

You truly never stop learning, especially when it comes to accessibility. Incorporating accessibility education into your professional and personal development is important for everyone – and our speakers will tell you both why and how you can.
Studio 3

We look forward to seeing your at GAAD for Good!



Register now